Sorry this is so late, I’m pretty much late for everything (anyone who knows me would agree), but in this blog post I am going to tell you my thoughts and opinions of the books I read last month.  I didn’t read an awful lots of books in February, as personally I don’t have the time to read as much as I’d like or as much as other people do.  don’t worry there wont be any spoilers in my reviews, all reviews on my blog will be spoiler free unless otherwise stated.  Anyway here is my February book reviews!

Beautiful Broken Things by Sara Barnard

‘I was bravebeautiful-broken-things
She was reckless
We were trouble

Best friends Caddy and Rosie are inseparable. Their differences have brought them closer, but as she turns sixteen Caddy begins to wish she could be a bit more like Rosie – confident, funny and interesting. Then Suzanne comes into their lives: beautiful, damaged, exciting and mysterious, and things get a whole lot more complicated. As Suzanne’s past is revealed and her present begins to unravel, Caddy begins to see how much fun a little trouble can be. But the course of both friendship and recovery is rougher than either girl realises, and Caddy is about to learn that downward spirals have a momentum of their own.

This was a lovely story that showed the love and strong bond between best friends.  It showed that friendships can be just as complicated as relationships, maybe even more so.  The characters in this story, Caddy, Rosie and Suzanne are all very relatable and I feel that everyone can relate to at least one of them in some way.  I felt that I could relate to Caddy quite a lot, as I’m not very confident in myself and I feel that I could put myself out there more.  If any of that made sense.  I liked that it involved mental health and think that it was written about well in a way that was realistic.  One of the things I liked most about this aspect of the story, is the way it showed the impact mental illness can have on those closest to you.  I feel that I can relate to this as well, as I have a close friend who has trouble with their mental health, and last year was having problems with it.  I was able to relate to Caddy in this sense, as I understand how hard and upsetting it can be to watch someone you care suffer.  Anyway, the characters were all different in their own ways and were very realistic, which is one of the things that I feel makes them relatable.  If you want to read a book about friendship then I would recommend you read this, there was a brief bit of romance (sort of) which I enjoyed.  One last thing, can be just appreciate how gorgeous that book cover is?

Highly Illogical Behaviour by John Corey Whaleyhighly-illogical-behaviour

‘Sixteen-year-old Solomon is agoraphobic. He hasn’t left the house in three years, which is fine by him.

Ambitious Lisa desperately wants to get into the second-best psychology program for college (she’s being realistic). But is ambition alone enough to get her in?

Enter Lisa.

Determined to “fix” Sol, Lisa steps into his world, along with her charming boyfriend, Clark, and soon the three form an unexpected bond. But, as Lisa learns more about Sol and he and Clark grow closer and closer, the walls they’ve built around themselves start to collapse and their friendships threaten to do the same.’

This book tells the story of Solomon, a teenager suffering from a mental illness.  The story is told from the perspectives of Lisa and Solomon.  As you have read in the blurb above, Lisa is trying to ‘cure’ Solomon.  Personally at the beginning I didn’t really like Lisa, I disliked the way she was treating Solomon (kinda the point though I guess), and I suppose maybe just her general attitude.  I found her to be… I think kind of ‘up-herself’.  She is a flawed character; I suppose they all are in a way (including the characters in Beautiful Broken Things) but that’s what makes characters more realistic.  I did grow on her though-out the book.  However this book told the story of their friendship and the impacts it has on their lives.  I loved the character of Solomon, I felt that he was a very interesting and kind of complex character, who was also funny at times.  I also really liked the character of Clark, I liked the way he treated Solomon and his disapproval of Lisa’s actions.  I think this book is also quite friendship orientated, there was a bit of romance and a moment were I thought two of the character were going to get together (if you’ve read this I think you might know what I mean) I was okay with what happened with that, I would have been okay with either really.  I feel that this books offers an interesting as well as realistic view on mental illness.  In my opinion I also found it to be well written which allow the reader to better understand the characters and their struggles and feelings.

My current read:  Red Dragon by Thomas Harris

So far I’m really enjoying this, I’m a big fan of the TV series Hannibal and the movies starring Anthony Hopkins.  I had hoped to have finished it before now so it could have been included in this post.  I don’t know if I should write a blog post when I’m finished or just do end of the month reviews.  What do you think I should do?  Have you ready any of these books?  If so I’d love to know what you thought of them in the comments 🙂

