All the Bright Places by Jennifer Niven.  The story is about a boy and a girl called Finch and Violet.  They become friends after they meet on the bell clock tower of their school where they both went to jump.  They both suffer from depression, but for different reason.  Violet is grieving after losing her sister, while Finch suffer from mental illness.  They story follows their relationship and the impact they have on each other’s life.  I thoroughly enjoyed this book, and got quite attached to the characters, especially Finch as he seemed like the type of person I’d be friends with.  I found him to be a very interesting and quite complex charater, who liked to live in the moment.  I found this book quite moving and I feel that its stayed with me.  I saw this book in the Zoella book club, and was drawn to it for involvement with mental illness.  I liked the sound of the characters and the storyline.  I found the book rather heart breaking, it had me in tears.  I love how Finch encouraged Violet to get back out into the world and to live her life to the full, I feel that that in itself is quite an important message.  That you should make the most of each day and try new things while we have the chance.  I also understand how it feels to watch someone you love suffer and not be able to do something about it.  I enjoy reading books about mental illness, as I feel it gives me a better understanding of what that person is going through.

Spirit Legacy (the Gateway trilogy #1) by E E Holmes.  I came across this book on a spirit-legacyfacebook ad and thought it sounded good, it also got a lot of good reviews.  I got the book for Christmas a few years ago, I only got round to reading it last year.  The book is about a girl named Jess, after losing her mother she moved to live with her Aunt.  She begins to experience strange things, she encounters dead people and things just keep getting stranger.  It follows her journey for answers and to understand what is happening, while uncovering secrets about her past.  I liked the way they discussed ghost in the book, I don’t usually take interest in ghost/paranormal books or movies (the Conjuring scared the hell out of me).  But the ghosts in this book were portrayed differently and the idea of them was quite realistic; lost souls looking to pass on.   There was a part where a paranormal investigation took place, and the equipment being used was explained, and the way it was explained was easy to understand.  The science behind the equipment also made so much sense and made the idea of ghost existing seem possible.  Even though the ghosts in this book weren’t portrayed to be scary monsters, there was still moments where it gave me chills.  I thoroughly enjoyed this book and would recommend it to others, especially fans of the paranormal genre.

 

Last book I read:  Beautiful Broken Things by Sara Barnardbeautiful broken things.png

This book told the story of friends and their relationships.  It explores the relationship of two best friends called Caddy and Rosie, after Rosie makes a new friend called Suzanne and the impact it has.  Caddy is bored with her life and wants to do more, and to be more exciting like Rosie and Suzanne.  Suzanne is trying to move on from her past and start afresh.  I feel that this book is very relatable as it deals with a lot of issues around teenage and family life, including some abuse and mental health.  Personally I feel like I could relate to Caddy in a way, as I also don’t feel all that confident in myself and sometimes I want to try and be more exciting, and do more new fun things.  I feel that most people will be able to relate to at least one of the characters in some way.

What I’m currently reading: Highly Illogical Behaviour by John Corey Whaley

I’ll just write the blurb for this one, as I’ve only just started.

‘Sometimes life just hands you the lemonade, straight up in a chilled glass with a little slice of lemon on top.  Sometimes it doesn’t.

Solomon hasn’t left his house in three years, which is fine by him.

Lisa will do anything to get into university-including befriending and ‘fixing’ Solomon for the benefit of a school psychology project.

And Clark, Lisa’s boyfriend, would do anything for her, because that’s what love is.’

highly illogical behaviour.png

If you want to know more about the books you can check them out on my goodreads, I’ll leave a link to my account below.  Thanks for reading!

My goodreads profile

 

 

 

